Handmade Manger by Meggie

ImageBelated Happy Hanukkah, Merry Christmas, and wishing you

a New Year of peace, joy, and blessings!

Things have been a bit hectic here at my house this past week, aside from the usual holiday festivities, so now it’s “catch-up” time for the Window.

As I was packing away ornaments this weekend, I was pleased to see my handmade manger still in such good shape after so many years of Christmas decoration, and wanted to share it with you, my gentle readers.  I will admit that I am proud of this piece.  I love nature crafts, and this little manger brings me great joy.  No pun intended, I promise.

xmastree2013

(Side note:  being of half Mediterranean descent, we traditionally leave the Christmas tree and nativity scene up until January 6th, a.k.a. “Little Christmas”, the date the wise men were to have actually arrived in Bethlehem.  Our real tree, having been up since Thanksgiving weekend, however, was suffering under the weight of all the ornaments, so I de-decorated it.  At least once a day, a branch would give and an ornament would drop off.  It is a good tree and we appreciate and rejoice in it’s fulfillment of its Christmas Destiny to be a well-loved Christmas tree.  I shall leave the mini-tree my brother, et al sent us and my Charming Tails mouse creche up until the 6th and allow our big tree to rest in peace.)

DSCN2173

The figures of Mary, Joseph, and the baby Jesus are plastic, just the 3 pieces, and were purchased at W.T. Grant’s department store sometime around 1968.  Having no real home for a long time, I acquired them from my parents when I got my own house, and eventually built the manger for them.  I usually wire the assembly onto a Christmas tree branch and hang an angel or 2 nearby.

Measuring 5″ at the tallest point, and about 5″ across, the manger is made entirely of twigs, string, a scrap of flat wood, and sawdust glued with Elmer’s wood glue in a few spots.

 

Here is how I made the manger with up-close photos.

Image

Leave a Reply

