Stuffed Winter Squashes

I wanted to try something new for dinner the other night, and came up with this idea, inspired by the lovely winter squashes at Sprouts and the fall fare at Trader Joe’s.DSCN1955

 

I chose 1 each Red Kurl and Acorn squash.  Acorn squash was nothing new to me, but the Brit had never had it.  Yeh, I know, right?!  Red Kurl was new to all of us.

DSCN1956

 

 

 

Make sure you wash the outside of your squashes well before you start cutting into them.  The Red Kurl was not easy to get a knife through.  I started by making a slit in the top with the point of my knife, then used the blade edge to push down through the slit- slowly.

DSCN1957

 

I got stuck about halfway through, so I flipped the squash over with the knife still in, gripped either side of the squash- careful to keep hands and fingers clear of the blade path- and pushed slowly down over the knife.  The Acorn was much easier to cut.

DSCN1958

 

Using a tablespoon, I scooped out the seeds and stringy stuff, just like a pumpkin.  The seeds got toasted for the mice.  The little bits of squash stuck to them were an extra treat.  They love them!

 

Now, rub the meat with melted butter and sprinkle it with a little brown sugar- in the hollow and on the edges.

Bake at 400F until just tender- about 25-30 minutes.  In the meantime, prepare your stuffing.  I cheated and used Trader Joe’s boxed stuffing mix with cranberries, but it was really good.  Cook your stuffing until it is 3/4 done.  When your squash is ready, stuff the hollow and cook for another 10-15 minutes.  The squash will be soft and the stuffing just lightly browned on top.

I cut each of the squash halves in half so the 4 of us could try a piece of each.  The accompaniments were boneless/skinless baked chicken breast cutlets seasoned with rosemary, sage, thyme, and white wine, along with French cut green beans.  The chicken (from Sprouts) and wine made a nice stock in the baking dish which I spooned over the meat to serve.  The Angry Orchard Crisp Apple Cider went along nicely, as well.

DSCN1959I got 4 thumbs up- I liked it, too!  The Red Kurl tastes like a combination of pumpkin and sweet potato.  The Acorn tastes like rutabaga, what the Brits call Swedes.  You could use any squash to do this, I think.  Going to try butternut next time.

If you’d like to share any of your favourite squash recipes, please do post them in the comments here 🙂

2 thoughts on “Stuffed Winter Squashes

Leave a Reply

