Terrariums

At the suggestion of The Brit, to promote my Etsy shop, Meggie’s Window, (insert shamefulless self-promotion here) and connect with other crafty-minded people, I started blogging earlier this year.  I had no clue what I was doing, or what to talk about.  I didn’t want to make it *all* about my shop.  Perusing the Internet (why do we capitalise that word like it’s a real place or something?), and some of the creative people I found on WordPress itself, however, gave me the inspiration I needed.

My first was The Learner Observer.  I was looking up terrariums because I wanted to see if there were any special tricks to making one (there are), and came across a picture that grabbed my attention.  The photo linked back to a WordPress blog- how fortuitous!  I commented on the project, and got a lovely response from Thalita.

And so it began…

It was actually quite a while before I finally made that terrarium, which ended up in a pretty metal birdcage I got for $6 at a Ross department store.

This past weekend, as Thalita was celebrating her 1st anniversary with The Learner Observer, I was creating my second mini-garden for The Brit- his desk at work in front of that nice big window was crying out for plant life!  A fitting coincidence since it was because of a terrarium I found her and got the inspiration boost to get started on my own blog.

Special thanks to Thalita ❤ for her, albeit unwitting, inspiration.  Happy anniversary to the Learner Observer; and here they are, Thalita, as promised 🙂

Terrarium/mini-garden #1

DSCN1058

DSCN1059

A closer look

DSCN1060

An even closer look

  DSCN1061 DSCN1062

And #2- which gave me an opportunity to use some of the cool rocks I have collected across the country

DSCN1057 DSCN1056 DSCN1055

5 thoughts on “Terrariums

  1. Oh. My. Goodness. First of all, is this the sweetest post ever written or what??? Seriously… You didn’t even have to mention me at all, let alone my blog anniversary, but you did anyway and now this is officially one of my favourite blog posts everrrrr!!!!

    Ok now about those terrariums…. Girl, you should be selling these like hotcakes!!! That birdcage is so beautiful and you have done such an amazing job with these little plants. Congrats!!!

    Thank you SO much for such kind, kind words. I am so happy that my failed terrarium brought us to read one another’s blog and, dare I say it, be blog buddies. 🙂

    • Awww…. I speak naught but the truth, Thalita, and I am happy to share your blog because it rocks and more people should have the opportunity to be inspired!

      Thank you for YOUR kind words! I never thought of selling the them. But I do love making them. Maybe when I get my “gypsy shoppe” into the market around here I could, though. Then I could have LOTS of fun making LOTS of them! hehe

      I am happy to be your “blog buddy” 🙂 You really do inspire.

  2. Pingback: Hanging Succulent Garden- by Meggie | My Window

  3. Pingback: TARDIS Terrarium | My Window

  4. Pingback: Bird Cage Garden Re-mix – My Window

Leave a Reply

