Controversial

Here comes the controversy!

I don’t know much about politics, and I do not want to.  But here goes…

I don’t see why people feel they need to own weapons that our military use- AK47’s, or what-ever they are. Why would you even want to?  I do not think people should be able to have these BIG weapons.  Unfortunately, our military and police need them- which sucks.  But why should we have something more than the cops do?  Are you trying to protect yourself (the most common reason I hear people use for owning guns) from elephants?

I’m not saying anything against gun owners.  I’m not taking sides.  This is just like any other subject for debate, like religion or politics.  There are people who take sides, people who can remain neutral, people who will be offended, people who will condemn others for their beliefs, and people who don’t care.

The big issue is that responsibility needs to be placed on the individual. Too many excuses for bad behaviour in this day and age.  It’s not God’s fault or his will, or the Jews fault, or because someone had a glass of wine in their first trimester of pregnancy.  If our kid goes out and shoots a classroom full of kindergarteners, it’s OUR fault, or theirs.

The parent’s fault, you gasp?  Yes.  A lot of times it is. How we raise our kids makes a difference in their adult-hoods.  HOWEVER, most anything can be overcome. Sometimes, a person has a mental or emotional issue that causes them to do certain things.  That’s a whole different story.

I don’t have an answer. Maybe I look at things too simply.  I just don’t understand why people have these big guns and why people can’t be nicer.  I don’t like it.

The following article was posted to FaceBook and a friend shared it.  Another friend looked up and verified the facts presented in the article.

This article is good.  It makes you think about the real issue without looking at sides.  I wish everybody could do that.  That would solve a lot of problems, I think.

2 thoughts on “Controversial

  1. As he friend who shared this (which was shamelessly stolen from another friend) I wish more people would read it. Most of the people against gun control don’t read laws, bills or proposals, and most don’t look up statistics or the truth of the quotes they post. It drives those of us who are rational insane, and thus makes us as irrational in the opposite direction.

    • I couldn’t agree more. I didn’t start off to rant on FB about it, and had no intention of discussing it here, but it was too important, IMO, not to share. I am glad you shared it, and happy to say some of my other friends have done, too. ❤

Leave a Reply

